Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 24 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 58.212.97.110  - Script
· 222.94.109.36  - Script
· 58.212.98.121  - Script
· 98.126.75.202  - CLike
· 177.185.131.202  - Filter
· 177.87.80.17  - Script
· 123.138.184.82  - CLike
· 193.189.116.68  - Filter
· 37.58.100.188  - Filter
· 109.106.137.100  - CLike
· 110.83.52.176  - Script
· 86.57.186.219  - Filter
· 14.0.21.86  - Union
· 113.173.24.82  - Script
· 222.242.72.200  - Script
· 202.28.119.240  - Filter
· 103.241.129.13  - Filter
· 84.53.200.22  - Filter
· 66.249.79.64  - Filter
· 66.249.79.56  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Black Icemat Mousepad

A clean, smooth mouse surface is a necessity when pinpoint accuracy is required. So when is pinpoint accuracy required? Some say accuracy is required while “gaming”, others say while “editing images” and yet others say “continually”. Today we take a look at the Black Icemat which takes accuracy to a new level.

Icemat Box

Packaging:

When I opened the packaging I noticed the entire pad was enclosed in 2 Styrofoam pieces that protected the glass pad during transport. I would suggest you keep this, as it will be useful for protecting the pad while traveling to the local LAN party.

Icemat Box Cracked

Features:

210 x 250 mm
Glass
Treated Surface for Precision and Accuracy
Icemat Padsurfer
Polyurethane Feet

Initial Look:

I began using the Icemat straight out of the box with my Logitech MX700 mouse. I was pleased with the initial feel. I noticed my mouse movement was more sensitive to my movements as opposed to my old rubber cloth covered mouse pad. The corner of my mousepad rests on a seam in my desk. This seam constantly messes up my mouse movements but I noticed immediately this was not the case with the Icemat due to its rigid surface. It’s rigidness helps in making it a solid and durable product.The sides of the Icemat were beveled so it was comfortable to use even if your arm rests on the pad. I do not use a wrist rest, so the palm of my hand rests on the pad at times during use. Funny thing: the Icemat is cool due to being made of glass; notice it did not say it was cold.

Icemat Up Close

The “treated surface” is actually a manufacturing process and seems very durable. It is not a piece that is glued on or added after manufacture. The surface feels like slightly etched glass. I could not visually see any pattern in the surface, but it seems to help optical mice with tracking movement.The bottom of the Icemat was protected by 6 Polyurethane feet. These feet really prevent the mat from sliding. While working and playing, it did not slide or move, even during some heated battles.

I was thrilled with the aesthetic look of Icemat in conjunction with the all black workstation. The surface of the Icemat is similar to touching finely etched glass. It is very smooth however you can feel the slight “Treated Surface.”

Icemat

Use:

After a few days I noticed my mouse was sticking instead of a smooth glide. It seemed my Icemat was no longer performing as I had hoped. I looked at the surface and could see dust had been accumulating and was causing my problem. I cleaned it and noticed a remarkable difference. As it turns out, my desk is under a central air vent and I have lots of dust settling down on my desk. I found my eyeglass cloth to be the best cleaner for it. It leaves no fabric debris and cleans the mat quickly.

At this point I also decided to break down and add some Teflon tape to the bottom of my mouse. Luckily Icemat includes a tape named the Icemat Padsurfer. It is important to make sure the edges are sealed to the bottom the mouse, so the tape doesn’t drag or begin to stick to the Icemat. After the installation of some Teflon tape, the mouse seemed to glide over the dust on the Icemat much more smoothly.I still clean it 2 or 3 times a day, but the performance is great!

Icemat And Mouse

Other mice:

Since this is a precision mouse pad, I did not try any traditional ball mice, as they are no where near as accurate as an optical mouse. I tried out the following mice on the Icemat.

Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse
IBM Optical 3 Button Travel Mouse
Dell Logitech Optical Mouse
Logitech Cordless MouseMan Optical

Of these mice, all worked great. I did not have enough Teflon tape to cover them all, however they all worked quite well. I was most impressed with the IBM mouse; it was so smooth and fluid, it felt like I was gliding on Ice.

Icemat Finished

Conclusion:

The Black Icemat is a great product and works well as a precision mouse pad. The only issues I see are the dust accumulation and the cost, at $39.50, it seems a little steep. I was impressed by its overall performance and its great looks.

I would like to thank Danny of Soft Trading for providing the mousepad and the patience for us to finish this review. [grin]

Pros:

  • Smooth Surface
  • Solid Foundation
  • Great Looks
  • Included Teflon Tape

Cons:

  • Collects Dust
  • Expensive

Added: March 30th 2004
Reviewer: KingKash
Score: 9  
Related Link: Soft Trading
Hits: 6530
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::