Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 25 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 221.11.109.10  - CLike
· 66.249.64.51  - Filter
· 66.249.79.94  - Filter
· 192.99.160.34  - Script
· 27.156.61.176  - Script
· 106.241.29.10  - Filter
· 193.95.75.173  - Filter
· 208.109.162.236  - Filter
· 66.249.69.144  - Filter
· 178.137.215.97  - Script
· 66.249.79.224  - Filter
· 37.58.100.164  - Filter
· 202.190.85.8  - Filter
· 173.208.193.83  - Script
· 66.249.74.58  - Filter
· 91.236.116.117  - Filter
· 118.99.16.32  - Script
· 37.115.218.203  - Script
· 14.147.120.22  - Script
· 37.58.100.134  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Sunbeam Hyper Light

Today we are looking at another lighting product from Sunbeam. This one is called the Hyper Light. It only takes a glance to see that this light is somewhat different from most other Sunbeam products we have seen; now we need to find out if that difference is good or not. The Sunbeam Hyper Light arrived in a resealable glossy paper lined blister pack. Although somewhat ordinary in appearance, it nonetheless managed to protect the package contents when I clumsily dropped it on the floor while taking it out of the box it was shipped in. Whoops.

Hyper Light Package

Specifications:

-Dimensions : 52.5x44.8x32mm
-Two 4 pin molex (F/M) for option
-Wire length : 280mm
-Back adhesive

Features:

Incredible amount of light
Small enough to fit anywhere
Movable and easy installation
Durable quality
Colors available

Hooking up the Hyper Light is so simple I hesitate to actually refer to it as an installation at all. You simply place it where you want it in your case, attach the double-sided foam adhesive to the base, and plug in the molex connector [which includes a pass through connector] to your power supply.

Hyper Light 1     Hyper Light Side

After letting the Hyper Light run for several minutes it produced very little noticeable heat--even when holding it in my hand--and unlike some of the other case lights I have used in my case in the past the Hyper Light didn't cause any EMI interference when placed near my CRT monitor. Some of you with server cases might find the connectors not long enough but they worked fine in my installation.

Hyper Light Bottom     Hyper Light Back Flip

Here is where things get sorta subjective, after looking at the Hyper Light for a long time inside the case it seemed to me that although the Hyper Light very brightly light the entire case most of the really blue portion was concentrated right near the base of the light, so I tried to capture this by taking a picture of a blue CCFL, and then the blue Hyper Light. Both pictures were taken in the dark without a flash and camera settings on auto.

Hyper Light Dark     CCFL Dark

Conclusion:

The Hyper Light is small, easy to mount and it puts out a lot of light. That being said, you won't mistake its color for that diffusion of eerie blue light that the flashlights on X-files seemed to produce. You also won't find any sort of on/off switch.

I would like to thank CrazyPC for providing the Hyper Light for review. This item can be purchased for 14.95 at CrazyPC.

Pros:

  • Very bright
  • No heat
  • Small & lightweight

Cons:

  • No on/off switch
  • Blue light not very diffused

Crazy PC

Added: June 6th 2004
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 8  
Related Link: SunbeamTech
Hits: 9894
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::