Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 28 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 173.208.193.82  - Script
· 37.58.100.87  - Filter
· 37.58.100.151  - Filter
· 66.249.79.120  - Filter
· 194.150.168.95  - Filter
· 115.49.16.113  - Filter
· 222.94.145.94  - Script
· 180.111.70.90  - Script
· 221.11.109.10  - CLike
· 66.249.64.51  - Filter
· 66.249.79.94  - Filter
· 192.99.160.34  - Script
· 27.156.61.176  - Script
· 106.241.29.10  - Filter
· 193.95.75.173  - Filter
· 208.109.162.236  - Filter
· 66.249.69.144  - Filter
· 178.137.215.97  - Script
· 66.249.79.224  - Filter
· 37.58.100.164  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Tt XJog USB Fan & Light

USB has given manufacturers opportunities to create many devices for consumers. Many of these devices were generally not considered for pc use. We will take a look at one such device by Thermaltake called the XJog USB Fan & Light.

XJog Package

Package Contents:

2 Port USB Hub with Power Switch on one port.
USB Light
USB Fan

XJog USB Hub

The hub shown above has 2 ports, one on the front and one on the top. The top port was powered by the power switch between the two ports. Ideally, the top port would house the light and the bottom port would house the fan. The bottom of the hub has a suction cup and pull bar to aid in keeping the hub secured to the desktop. The USB Hub also came with an acrylic square, I assume to aid in keeping the hub upright if your desk is porous enough to prevent the hub from creating a nice suction.

XJog Package

As shown above the power requirements were fairly low and I did not have any issues plugging it in to my laptop, PC, un-powered USB hub, or powered USB hub.

XJog Fan

The fan blades were made of a plastic/cloth material. It was safe and does not hurt if you accidentally (oops) touch it while working. The fan spins around 2500rpm and is barely audible, but puts out a nice breeze while remaining quiet.

Fan On Laptop

The light seems to be an LED. It does not get hot at all. However, one downfall is its length. I have it plugged directly in to one USB port on my laptop and it does illuminate my laptop keyboard and surrounding area quite nicely. I know Thermaltake included the USB hub to address the issue of how short the light is, but a couple more inches would have gone a long way [Editor's note; that line could have came from my spam folder]. I also noticed if the light and fan were any longer, the hub would not have been able to support the weight of both devices. Several times the suction on the hub would break loose and the devices would fall over. If only one device was plugged into the lower port on the hub, it fell over more often.

Here I have both devices running using the included USB Hub. This picture was taken with very little room light, as you can see the light sure brightens up the keyboard.

Fan And Light

As I mentioned above, I wanted to make sure the devices worked while plugged into my USB 2 non-powered hub. This solution really worked out great. I work on my PC at night and my keyboard is black. This helped illuminate my keyboard enough for me to keep my normal desk light off. It is not enough light to use as a flash light, but there is plenty to allow you to see those keys that I always miss while typing.

Final Pic

Conclusion:

The XJog USB Light & Fan is a handy little product. I definitely see myself using it at the next LAN party to light up my personal space and to cool me off is those heated frag sessions. I like the item enough to keep it in my laptop bag to use any time the need may arise. I would like to see a little more length in the devices, but over all I really enjoy using them.

Pros:

  • Small size for portability
  • Included 2 port hub
  • Soft fan blades
  • Flexible design
  • Quiet
  • On-Off switch

Cons:

  • Short length
  • Heavy for hub suction

I would like to thank CrazyPC for providing the XJOG A2130 Fan and Light Kit for review. This item can be purchased for $16.95 at CrazyPC.

Crazy PC

Added: August 21st 2004
Reviewer: KingKash
Score: 9  
Related Link: Thermaltake USA
Hits: 5747
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.11 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::