Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 25 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 110.83.52.176  - Script
· 86.57.186.219  - Filter
· 14.0.21.86  - Union
· 113.173.24.82  - Script
· 222.242.72.200  - Script
· 202.28.119.240  - Filter
· 103.241.129.13  - Filter
· 84.53.200.22  - Filter
· 66.249.79.64  - Filter
· 66.249.79.56  - Filter
· 174.139.20.146  - Filter
· 64.34.193.104  - Script
· 85.25.213.172  - CLike
· 66.249.69.16  - Filter
· 37.58.100.238  - Filter
· 173.208.193.82  - Script
· 37.58.100.87  - Filter
· 37.58.100.151  - Filter
· 66.249.79.120  - Filter
· 194.150.168.95  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

SteelPads Steel Grips

Steel Pads needs no intro around Monster-Hardware. We have reviewed other SteelPad products and we were fairly impressed with them. Today we check out Steel Grip, a product that helps you keep a firm grip on your mouse during even the toughest grudge matches.

Steelgrip Package Front

Steel Grip came in a package with 5 pieces of grip tape. It was well protected from the elements in a durable Ziploc baggie. The packaging inside the Ziploc baggie was a perfect fit and did not allow the steel grips to slip behind the packaging.

Steelgrip Package Rear

The back of the packaging also served as a small instruction sheet. It shows how to apply the pads to your mouse. The 5 pieces shown below include 2 button sized pads for the right & left click buttons, also 2 side pieces for helping hold on to the mouse, and finally one for the back side under the palm of your hand.

Steelgrip Bundle

As shown above, I believe my kit was flawed. The Steelpad website shows 2 side pieces with a different pattern. According to the Steelpad website I was given 2 left side pads.

Steelgrip Layout

Here is another pic contrasting the size of the pads compared to the standard Microsoft Wheel Optical mouse. This pic was taken at home, which is my wife’s mouse. She quickly asked me not to install the pads on her mouse. So I went to work and installed them one of my mice at work.

Mouse Bottom

Steel Pads must have used the Microsoft mouse as a pattern because they fit perfectly. The packaging says the grips are very easy to cut to adjust them to fit your particular mouse. When I first installed the pads, I noticed it was relatively difficult to pull the backing off the pads. When I first pulled the backing off the palm pad, I actually broke part of the pad off, but luckily the sticky part of the pad was still in tact and I was able to put it back on. You may be able to see the spot on the final pic in this review.

Steelgrip Installed

The pads were very forgiving when I was placing them on the mouse. I first marked out exactly where I was going to install them, so getting them exactly placed was fairly easy. I slipped once or twice and was able to pull the pad off and replace it. However once it is in place and you have pressed it down firmly, you might as well forget trying to get it off. This is exactly what it is supposed to do. The pads feel like a very soft foam rubber. It reminds me of a wet suit, although the Steel Pads are much softer. It certainly makes for a good grip on the mouse.

Steelgrip Installed

I tested the Steel Pads while playing a couple hours of Half Life 2. I was very impressed. As my hand began to sweat, the mouse did not get slick and hard to hold. It was a very nice change to the normal slippage that occurs as things get hairy in the game. I also used the mouse for several hours doing office work, working in Access, Excel, and Surfing the net. I actually got very used to the nice grip of the mouse and began wishing I had installed it on my main PC.

Steelgrip Final

Conclusion:

The Steel Grips are a great product. I was upset that I ripped the big pad, but I was able to repair it. It would have been nice to have the right and left side pads but the ones I received did work just fine. They absolutely assist in keeping the mouse under control while playing games and they are comfortable enough to use on a day to day basis no matter what type of computing you are doing. They did help with the sweat issue while gaming in an adrenalin pumping session of Half Life 2.

Pros:

  • Easy to adjust while installing
  • Soft, comfortable for daily use

Cons:

  • 2 Left side pads
  • Hard to pull the backing off the tape

Added: February 26th 2005
Reviewer: KingKash
Score: 9  
Related Link: Steelseries
Hits: 5075
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.10 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::