Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 80 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 60.215.25.238  - Script
· 185.70.185.51  - Filter
· 122.247.184.187  - Script
· 64.41.86.48  - Script
· 23.252.165.109  - Script
· 50.62.160.45  - Script
· 212.47.208.140  - Script
· 173.212.222.198  - Script
· 115.217.36.107  - Script
· 160.153.153.2  - Script
· 85.206.165.12  - Filter
· 116.255.153.245  - Script
· 122.114.146.153  - Script
· 213.136.89.76  - Script
· 60.169.77.107  - Script
· 116.255.164.149  - Script
· 1.204.3.251  - Script
· 222.186.190.141  - Script
· 159.65.232.22  - Script
· 103.243.26.74  - Script

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Logitech MX1000 Mouse

As a long time user of the Logitech MX 700 cordless mouse, I was excited at the opportunity to review the new Logitech MX 1000 laser cordless mouse. You see, between my duties here with MHW and being an avid gamer, I probably logged more miles on my MX 700 last year than on the family car. LOL. With that sort of use I have uncovered a small issue or two with the MX 700 that the more casual user may have missed, and I was interested to see if Logitech had addressed those issues with the newer MX 1000 mouse.

The box that the MX 1000 comes in is the slickest product packaging I have seen to date, and on its own it is sure to generate a fair number of impulse retail sales. The embossed graphics in conjunction with the shiny metal foil and bright colors are even more attractive than the current high-end video card packaging, and so reflective that I had to turn off the flash on my digital camera just to get a decent photograph of the box. That being said, most of the readers don't make their hardware purchases based on appearance, so let's get things started with some of the paper stats. If you are interested in even more of this white-paper stuff, since this new mouse is laser instead of optical based, Logitech also has a laser technology brief in PDF format.

MX1000 Package

Performance Specs:

-Image Processing: 5.8 megapixels/sec
-Resolution: 800 dpi
-Surface Sensitivity: 20x versus optical

Features:

Rechargeable lithium-ion battery
Fast RF cordless connection
New thumb-button controls
Superior grasp
Illuminated 4-level battery indicator
Powerful scrolling system

MX1000 Bundle

One of the main marketing focuses of the MX 1000 is its supposed ability to track with 20x greater sensitivity to surface detail than an optical mouse. While this may very well be true, as I have no way to test it, I will say that I didn't notice any difference in tracking between the MX 700 and the MX 1000. Both were very smooth, and didn't stutter on a wide variety of surfaces on which I tested them--from bare wood to white paper, to several different types of mouse pads. Of course, if you happen to use a different surface, or are comparing to a different mouse than the ones above, your results may vary. That being said, I would imagine that most people who buy a 70usd mouse are going to be using it with a premium mouse pad of some sort, so you shouldn't have any tracking problems.

MX vs MX

I suppose I could feature a long section here on gaming performance, but I don't want to write one and you probably don't want to read one, when I can readily tell you what you want to know in a few short sentences. Here it is: The Logitech MX 1000 laser cordless mouse performs as well or better at all sorts of gaming than any corded mouse I have ever used. Period. No lag, no cord tug, no sluggish movement. It just works, and it does so in a way that I wish all other PC hardware would but invariably doesn't.

For those of you interested in trying out the Logitech drivers, to take advantage of the advanced mouse features it provides (IMO the MX 1000 functions fine with the standard windows mouse driver) I recommend you are careful and chose the custom installation and uncheck all the offending selections or you will end up with enough unwanted extra applications installed to your PC to make even an AOL user annoyed.

Picture of the Laser, even though it is supposed to be safe, I turned the mouse off using the new on/off switch before taking this picture.

MX1000 Bottom

So exactly what is it you get after installing the Logitech mouse driver? You get access to several pages of tweaking options and custom mapping of mouse buttons. Probably the most notable feature here, though, is the thumb controls which I personally found to be awkward and unintuitive to use. Worse yet, the back and forward buttons on the thumb controls that you can use to quickly page forward and back through different web pages while surfing the internet seem to be IE only and don't work with the Firefox. I couldn't get them to work with Thunderbird either; although, they list Outlook as one of the supported applications. Maybe some creative key remapping can fix this shortcoming, I don't know. Battery life, another big feature of the Logitech driver, works just fine, but is it really any more convenient than looking at the mouse LEDs to check the battery level? All in all, there is nothing wrong with drivers. They just don't seem to do anything that feels essential to me for the use of the MX 1000.

MX1000 Software

At the start of this review I mentioned that as a long-time MX 700 user I had a couple small issues with its design. Now I am going to talk about them, as well as what--if anything--the MX 1000 has done to correct these issues. I felt it was important, since so many people own a MX 700 and may be considering upgrading, that I held off talking about these problems earlier so I could put them all together here.

Battery life: Much improved. Not only did I go through four sets of rechargeable batteries with the MX 700, I also rarely made it through the day without the LED low battery indicator that sat in the middle of the MX 700 flashing like the pulsating red light on Ultraman's chest when he had been in Earth's atmosphere too long (ask your parents). The MX 1000, on the other hand, has a built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery which not only seems to last all day but comes with a 3-level battery indicator (I know it says 4-level on the specs but it isn't) that flashes in a upward chasing pattern as it charges in the base. These LEDs go to sleep when the mouse is left inactive out of the base for a few seconds to also extend battery life.

Mouse base: Much improved. Putting the MX 700 in its base for charging used to be a real hassle because if you weren't careful and the mouse placement wasn't exactly correct the mouse wouldn't charge. Fortunately no such problem seems to exist with the MX 1000. The mouse fits in its charger much better. Not one single time yet have I thought the mouse was in its base charging and it wasn't.

Mouse feet: Jury is still out. I went through three sets of mouse feet on my MX 700. This situation wasn't limited to heavy users like me, either. I personally know of at least one casual user who had to replace their mouse feet too. This is apparently somewhat widespread as Newegg even sells mouse feet for the Logitech MX mouse separately. The mouse feet on the MX 1000 appear to be made from exactly the same material as those on the MX 700 I just hope they wear better. If they don't, well then Logitech should include a spare set with all the MX 1000 they sell. I imagine that the mouse feet problem isn't limited to the Logitech MX line. That being said, few other mice costs as much either.

If you currently own a corded--or worse yet--ball mouse then the MX 1000 is a no-brainer. Like the earlier MX 700 it games as well as a corded mouse. If you already own a recent optical, cordless mouse the question becomes more problematic. There are clear but subtle advantages of the new Logitech MX 1000, such as the new rechargeable lithium-ion battery mentioned above. Whether these advances warrant upgrading, though, depends on what model mouse you currently own and what your driving habits are.

Pros:

  • Rechargeable lithium-ion battery
  • No noticeable lag, even when gaming
  • Works with variety of surfaces

Cons:

  • Mouse feet may not wear well
  • Bloated driver installation
  • Thumb controls don't support Firefox or Thunderbird

Review Update

After receiving some feedback that the back and forth buttons did indeed work for some users in Firefox, I decided to do some more digging. One of the first links I found at HWHEll said this, so it seems that Firefox will work if you remap the buttons as I had mentioned. I still maintain that you should NOT have to do this though as it is going to be way over the head of the average user.

"Before I go on let me digress in to the issues I had with this mouse. The first major issue was that the Front and Back buttons did not work with Maxthon and/or FireFox. It only works with IE. They do work with other applications but not those browsers for whatever reason."

I would like to thank Computer Geeks for providing us the Logitech MX 1000 Laser Wireless Mouse for review. This item can be purchased for $69.99 at Computer Geeks.

Geeks

Added: May 21st 2005
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 9  
Related Link: Logitech
Hits: 24737
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.09 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::