Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 24 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 120.37.226.118  - Script
· 49.74.195.94  - Script
· 37.115.219.233  - Script
· 66.249.76.146  - Filter
· 91.106.203.34  - Filter
· 176.97.172.193  - Filter
· 222.95.86.157  - Script
· 77.226.42.230  - CLike
· 58.212.227.16  - Script
· 114.221.152.14  - Script
· 114.222.100.246  - Script
· 114.221.149.254  - Script
· 5.10.83.63  - Filter
· 114.221.146.190  - Script
· 37.9.53.67  - CLike
· 183.160.183.246  - Script
· 180.111.69.119  - Script
· 99.74.37.6  - Script
· 178.158.214.36  - CLike
· 95.238.121.119  - Union

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Icemat Siberia Headset

Icemat is well known for their smooth glass mousepads. However today we are take a look at Icemat Audio Siberia Multi Headset.

Siberia Box

Features:

Headphone:
Frequency resp: 18-28.000 Hz
Impedance: 40 Ohm
SPL@1kHz, 1V rms: 99 - 104dB
Cable length: 1,0+1,8=2,8m
Jack: 3,5 mm. + 6,3 mm. converter

Microphone:
Frequency Response: 80-15.000 Hz
Pick-up pattern: Sensitive uni-directional
1V/P@1kHz: 38dB

Siberia Bundle

As shown here the Siberia comes inside a molded plastic crate. Everything was well packed and lived through the battered shipping process.

Siberia Headphones

Contents:

Headphones with 3.5mm mini jack
Volume Regulator
1.8m Extension
Uni-directional Microphone
6.3mm converter
Plastic Microphone Mounts

Siberia Headcups

Notice the ear cushions above are very soft. I wear glasses and did not notice any discomfort at all, even in prolonged use. The back of the earphones were also curved to allow more room at the back of the ear so as not to smash your ear to your head. Also near the back were some air holes which aid in keeping your ears cool and also allows you to hear when someone tries to talk to you when you have them on.

Siberia Close Up

The outside of the Siberia has one cord to the left ear. This cord is about 3 feet long. This seemed a little short to me, but Icemat did include a 5 foot extension. The headphones are made of plastic, however feel very solid and sturdy.

Siberia Up Top

This is the top of the headset between the metal frame and the head rest. The headrest, which is self-adjusting, is what keeps the headset on your head. I was amazed at how well it kept the headset on my head without any movement.

Siberia Mic

The extension/volume regulator had a clip on it to attach the microphone for cable management. As you can see at the top of this picture the microphone can be removed from the extension/volume regulator and either clipped to your shirt, or it can be mounted to your monitor with the included mounting hardware. The mic has an on/off switch on the mic that is easily accessible.

Siberia Control

The extension/volume regulator I left plugged into my PCs sound card. This way I had easy access to plug in the head set on my desktop and never had to fool around looking for the speaker port on my PC. The volume regulator was a nice touch as it is easier to use than to find the volume controls on the PC to increase/decrease the volume.

Siberia Connectors

The plugs shown here were color coded which made plugging them in very easy to plug into the PC sound card.

Use:

Let me start by saying these are by far the most comfortable audio headsets I have ever used. I used the Siberia in the following devices:

Rio Chiba MP3 player
Dell Axim x50v Pocket PC
Dell D610 Laptop
USB Anydrive
Compaq Ipaq 3800 Pocket PC
Sony PSP

While using with all these different devices,I was very impressed with the sound quality. It had great bass and nice highs. While listening to MP3's on my Chiba, I had wished the main cord from the headset was a little longer. The Siberia finally landed at its home on my workstation desk at home. I mostly use it for listening to music while I work and the occasional gaming session. I have used the Siberia to listen to DVD movies on my laptop as well as played some games on the PSP my neighbor has.

I found that working out with the Siberia is not exactly the best as my ears got rather hot due to the foam ear cushions. But when I was gaming or watching DVDs I barely noticed them on my head. I was amazed at how crisp the highs were and how the base sounded clear as a bell. I was able to crank up the volume on most of the above mentioned devices and did not hear a discernible deterioration of sound quality. The head rest on top was very comfortable and was a very nice design.

The microphone was best if used while attached to my shirt. My monitor is rather far away from me and it picked up my whirling fans when I had it too far from my face. When I wore the mic it seemed like it canceled out some of the background noise in my house. When I was playing with it on my laptop I was amazed it picked up some very faint noises of my kids playing outside. I only used it a couple of times while gaming but my buddies told me it sounded great.

The only other complaint I have about Siberia is the length of the attached cord. It is 3 feet, but just seems too short. I only pulled the headset off my head once while watching a DVD movie but that was because I forgot they were on my head. I also used the Siberia with a VOIP SoftPhone and loved it. It was easy to use and the quality was better than using my Labtec headset with boom mic that I was using before I got the Siberia.

Price is $79 USD on Icemat’s online store. I would also like to thank Icemat for providing us this item for site review.

Excellent Quality Overall

Pros:

  • Very comfortable
  • Great sound
  • Lots of Uses
  • Good looks

Cons:

  • Short main cord
  • Hot if being used outdoors or in high temps

Added: June 18th 2005
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 9  
Related Link: Ice Mat
Hits: 7852
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2012 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::