Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 23 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 80.252.154.233  - Filter
· 188.143.235.17  - Filter
· 177.185.131.194  - Filter
· 162.144.113.30  - Filter
· 58.212.97.110  - Script
· 222.94.109.36  - Script
· 58.212.98.121  - Script
· 98.126.75.202  - CLike
· 177.185.131.202  - Filter
· 177.87.80.17  - Script
· 123.138.184.82  - CLike
· 193.189.116.68  - Filter
· 37.58.100.188  - Filter
· 109.106.137.100  - CLike
· 110.83.52.176  - Script
· 86.57.186.219  - Filter
· 14.0.21.86  - Union
· 113.173.24.82  - Script
· 222.242.72.200  - Script
· 202.28.119.240  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Acer AL1916 Silver LCD

In the last twelve months LCDs have really gone mainstream, so with prices falling and screen sizes rising now seemed a good time for our first ever LCD review. For today's review we will be looking at the refurbished Acer AL1916 LCD, graciously provided us for review from Geeks.

Acer 1916

I confess I am always somewhat apprehensive about receiving fragile items like monitors mail-order but in this instance my worrying proved to be unfounded. Not only was the Acer AL1916 double-boxed by Geeks, but the LCD body was enclosed in something that resembled a spider cocoon from NWN, and the screen itself was protected with a clear rigid sheet of plastic film.

Acer 1916 Packing

Specifications:

-Acer 19" flat panel display
-Silver bezel
-TFT Active Matrix LCD panel type
-1280 x 1024 maximum resolution
-0.294 mm pixel pitch
-16.7 million colors
-300 cd/m2 luminance
-700:1 (maximum) contrast ratio
-140 horizontal viewing angle
-140 vertical viewing angle
-15-pin standard VGA connector
-DVI connector
-Energy Star compliant
-Plug and Play
-On Screen Display (OSD) controls
-Automatic Image Adjustment
-VESA compatible for wall mounting

When I first went to fire up the Acer AL1916 I noticed that even though Acer had thought to include a quick start guide, and a CD with a users guide, they for some reason chose not to include a driver. While it wasn't much trouble to go online and grab it I am clueless as to why it wasn't on the CD with the user's manual. The driver itself is XP only, but with Vista due to be released next month I wonder how many people are still using Win 98 now?

Acer 1916 Packing

Like most budget monitors the Acer AL1916 has a fixed base; that means no height adjustments and definitely no swiveling screen. What you will find on the back of the monitor in addition to the power & VGA connector is a DVI connector as well as an included DVI cable (Shock!). The literature I had on the AL1916 before it arrived hadn't mentioned either of these items and I found their inclusion to be a pleasant surprise.

Acer 1916 Backside

OSD no PYT, while you will find most all of the usual suspects here to tinker with brightness, contrast, temperature, etc. The interface is not arranged in a particularly intuitive fashion, while things were not so bad that I had to refer to the manual for step by step instructions I did nonetheless find myself occasionally scratching my head.

Acer 1916 Base

Most LCD sold today are more than up to the task of running general office apps, the Acer AL1916 is no exception, gaming performance was also very good. I noticed no ghosting, even though I was playing a wide variety of games. All in all I was nearly as satisfied with this LCD as my ViewSonic which cost 50% more.

Conclusion:

The bottom line is that while the Acer AL1916 is not quite perfect, what few minor issues it has--like a slightly washed out looking black. None of them are IMO a deal breaker; on the plus side you get a good basic 19” LCD with a DVI connector that doesn't ghost in games for less than 200 usd. If you are on a budget this monitor deserves serious consideration.

Pros:

  • DVI connector
  • No ghosting
  • Low price

Cons:

  • Black slightly washed out
  • OSD menus not well organized

I would like to thank Geeks for providing us with the Acer AL1916 LCD for review. This item can be purchased at Geeks for 179 usd.

Geeks

Added: December 26th 2006
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 8  
Related Link: Acer
Hits: 11270
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::