Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 31 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 176.52.117.27  - Filter
· 202.28.119.237  - Filter
· 176.52.90.19  - Filter
· 176.52.110.133  - Filter
· 174.139.163.82  - CLike
· 89.251.152.14  - Filter
· 153.121.47.69  - Script
· 216.228.104.39  - Script
· 212.83.157.218  - Script
· 58.64.150.234  - Script
· 176.52.101.188  - Filter
· 83.222.254.18  - Script
· 94.23.232.18  - Script
· 64.90.57.127  - Script
· 27.159.229.200  - Script
· 49.212.176.177  - Script
· 216.240.36.214  - Script
· 85.90.193.224  - Script
· 27.159.234.122  - Script
· 123.125.71.23  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

LT WinFast PX7950GT

I just replaced my video card, a factory overclocked XFX GeForce 6800GS with a Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT (graciously provided us by Geeks). Even though my 6800GS was less than a year old it was already starting to show its age. While all of the older games I play run fine some of the newer ones--Oblivion, for example--border on unplayable. If you own a GeForce 6800 or earlier class card and are interested in seeing what sort of a performance increase you might expect by moving to a GeForce 7950GT, then please read on.

The Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT arrived in a typical high gloss retail box. The front of the box features an image of a Gordon Freeman look-alike, IMO a welcome change from the by now somewhat blasé generic-looking demon who usually occupies this space on video card boxes. Moving inside you will find an owner's manual, quick installation guide, driver & utilities disc, two full games, DVI to VGA converter, HDTV cable, and of course the WinFast PX 7950GT TDH video card itself. Again, all pretty standard stuff here; the only thing that jumps out here and says “Mention Me” is that the owner's manual itself is actually for the WinFast PX 6800 line, so some of the info inside such as the power supply recommendations are probably suspect. For kicks, I downloaded the online Leadtek owner's manual and it, too, is out of date.

7950 Box

As for the games the two games included are Serious Sam II, and SpellForce2. Serious Sam II is a decent, although somewhat uninspired sequel to Serious Sam (one of the best FPS ever in IMO). Since I don't know much about SpellForce2 I will have to reserve judgment for this one until I have had a chance to actually play it. With two full games here as well as the usual drivers and utilities, the software bundle gets two thumbs up. Of course, very few people would buy a video card based on the software bundle alone.

7950 Bundle

Specs:

-NVIDIA GeForce 7950GT
-PCI Express graphics bus
-256MB DDR3 memory
-550/1400MHz GPU/memory clock
-Output Dual Dual-Link DVI, HDTV
-256-bit memory interface
-44.8 GB/sec. bandwidth
-13.2 billion texels/sec fill rate
-1.14 billion vertices/sec
-24 pixels per clock
-400 Mhz RAMDACs
-90nm process technology

I am sure you have all heard the line “it is not the size that matters it is how you use it”. Well, that statement doesn't apply when you are talking about video cards. When I finish therapy remind me to tell you, the readers, my adventure trying to fit a GeForce Ti 4600 into a micro tower case. Sorry I am not able to finish the story now but I just recently stopped having nightmares about it. Fortunately you shouldn't encounter any such problems with any reasonable sized case with the Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT, as it is quite a bit smaller than the XFX GeForce 6800 GS. Size matters. There, I said it.

7950 Front     7950 Size

Temperatures for the Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT (which were taken from the temperature settings tab of the display drivers) ranged from 53C at idle to 63C at load, up some from the 47C idle and 58C load temps of the XFX GeForce 6800 GS, but still quite respectable especially considering the meager size of the cooling solution. Video card noise levels were below ambient even while gaming; of course, this was within a shut case with three 120mm fans and one high-pitched chipset fan.

Test System:

AMD X2 4600+ O/C 2.78GHZ (265X10.5)
ASUS A8N-E Motherboard
1024MB Kingston Hyper-X PC4000
Western Digital 160 GB SATA HD
BenQ DW1620 DVDR
XFX GeForce 6800 GS (485/1100)
Leadtek 7950 GT (550/1400)
Thermalright XP-120 HSF
OCZ ModStream 520W PS
WIN XP Home - SP2
Direct X 9C
Det 93.71

Doom 3

An oldie but a goodie-- not much commentary needed here.

Oblivion

The 7950 GT made a large difference in playability here.

AOE3

One for you strategy gamers.

3DMark2001SE

Surprisingly not much difference here between the two cards in this one.

3DMark2003

7950 starting to slowly pull away.

3DMark2005

7950 coming into its own here.

3DMark2006

No question about its lead here.

Aquamark

Another one for those of you still playing older games.

Overclocking:

Overclocking the Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT was a mixed bag. I was able to push the core to 645Mhz, which is 95Mhz over the stock 550Mhz, and very near the 7900GTX core speed of 650Mhz. Strangely enough, though, there was no increase in benchmark scores between 600Mhz and 640Mhz. Whether this was caused by throttling, being CPU limited, or some other factor, though, I do not know. The memory on the other hand only achieved a rather modest 50Mhz gain over the 1400Mhz stock speed, well short of the 1600Mhz of the 7900GTX memory speed. Since overclocking results normally vary from card to card, if these results are important to you make sure to read several reviews to get a better idea what range you can likely expect in your overclocking efforts.

Conclusion:

The Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT vidoe card is one of the cheapest GeForce 7950 variants on the market. Sporting a single slot cooling solution as well as being a fairly short in length it should fit most any place you want to put it. Performance from the card was very good resulting in a large jump in performance over the GeForce 6800GS I was previously using. Overclocking results were mediocre but it did manage to beat the speeds of a factory overclocked Leadtek 7950. If there is a downside with this card it is that it is not Direct X 10 compliant. While that is not an issue today since no DX10 titles are yet on the market, if you only upgrade your video card every few years it is something you might want to consider.

Pros:

  • Good performance
  • Quiet operation
  • Relatively low cost
  • Decent software bundle

Cons:

  • Not DX 10 Compliant

I would like to thank Geeks for providing us with the Leadtek WinFast PX 7950GT for review. This item can be purchased at Geeks for 214 usd.

Geeks

Added: February 24th 2007
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 9  
Related Link: Leadtek
Hits: 10686
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.14 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::