Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 30 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 222.94.109.36  - Script
· 58.212.98.121  - Script
· 98.126.75.202  - CLike
· 177.185.131.202  - Filter
· 177.87.80.17  - Script
· 123.138.184.82  - CLike
· 193.189.116.68  - Filter
· 37.58.100.188  - Filter
· 109.106.137.100  - CLike
· 110.83.52.176  - Script
· 86.57.186.219  - Filter
· 14.0.21.86  - Union
· 113.173.24.82  - Script
· 222.242.72.200  - Script
· 202.28.119.240  - Filter
· 103.241.129.13  - Filter
· 84.53.200.22  - Filter
· 66.249.79.64  - Filter
· 66.249.79.56  - Filter
· 174.139.20.146  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

CH 6-SPKR Headphones

If you live in a sound proof home, and own an expensive 5.1 home theater sound system today's review will probably hold little interest for you. If, however, you are on a tight budget and live in a condo but would still like to experience 5.1 sound then the surprisingly cheap CyberHome headphones sent over by Geeks may be just the solution. Read on as we find out.

Cyberhome Package Front

What to say about the packaging? Well, once again, customer convenience and safety take a back seat to manufacturer shrink. Other than that complaint design was attractive and contents--although not fragile--were still reasonably well protected. Opening the package you will find a digital surround audio decoder, 3.7V Li-ion battery, power adapter, audio cable, headphone extension cable, cotton bag, user guide, as well as the CyberHome 6-speaker headphones themselves--a well-thought-out and fairly large number of items for a container this size. The main thing I gleaned here was that with all necessary cabling, and an included rechargeable battery, the CyberHome 6-Speaker headphones appear ready to go straight out of the packaging.

Cyberhome Package Rear

Specs:

-True 5.1 audio with headphones
-Six speakers total (three in each car cup)
-5.1 channel digital decoder
-20 - 20,000 Hz frequency response
-Two headphone decoder output
-S/PDIF optical or coaxial input
-Compatible with any digital audio source
-Works with PS3/XBOX 360/Wii/PC/DVD players
-3.7V Li-ion rechargeable battery

After charging the battery overnight I was ready to get started (If you are impatient you can get started immediately by using the AC adapter). Setup was so simple that I didn't even bother to consult the user's manual. The headphones themselves which are of the over the ear variety posses both horizontal and vertical positional adjustments. These proved quite handy as the CyberHome headphones had no problem accommodating my freakishly large Pinky and the Brain sized noggin.

Cyberhome Headphones

Very little background hiss was evident in testing; bass response was a little heavy for my tastes--often overpowering the mid-range. If you want to share the love the decoder breakout box supports two sets of CyberHome headphones, which Geeks also sells separately.

Cyberhome Control Unit

Since I don't own a next generation console and I can't see sitting with my face almost touching the TV screen I performed all my testing on the PC. I divided up the testing into three different sections, watching videos, listening to music, and playing games. I will briefly comment on each below.

Watching videos: Nothing jumps out at me here, could be my source material but things sound like a good set of ordinary stereo headphones.

Listening to music: Good rich sound, although the bass is a little overwhelming for my tastes and somewhat obscures the mid-range making the vocals slightly muddy.

Playing games: Kicks ass, some titles sound and feel like completely different games, good positional audio as well, issue with sound volume levels adjustment.

Conclusion:

Of all the many items I have reviewed here, this is one of the first ones that my wife has actually latched on to as her own. I mention this because it suggests to me that the CyberHome 6-Speaker headphones have mainstream appeal outside of the usual hard core nerds (of which I am clearly a card carrying member) that often make up our readership. What do I think of the CyberHome headphones personally? You rarely find anything in this price range, (< 20 bucks) that does this many things right. While the CyberHome headphones are not terribly well-refined, the lack of sound level adjustments during gaming ranges from too loud to clearly on your way to being deaf, for example, and the decoder breakout box adds a another rat's nest of wires and cables to your desk, still you get reasonably good sound quality in a comfortable headset. I don't think the CyberHome headphones are going to be put on the shelf and forgotten about after this review is over, my wife will see to that. With the included cotton carrying bag they might also make their way with me to a LAN or two as well.

Pros:

  • Comfortable to wear
  • Good sound quality
  • Supports two headsets
  • Low price

Cons:

  • Rat's nest of cables
  • Sound volume not adjustable in games

I would like to thank Geeks for providing us with the CyberHome 6-speaker headphones for review. This item can be purchased at Geeks for 18 usd. Geeks also has a large variety of other headphones available.

Geeks

Added: March 18th 2007
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 8  
Hits: 7214
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::