Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 83 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 185.89.100.94  - Script
· 160.16.85.117  - Script
· 49.89.253.36  - Script
· 84.17.44.97  - Union
· 87.236.20.18  - Script
· 125.39.194.24  - Script
· 5.62.159.52  - Script
· 114.26.157.10  - Script
· 208.102.51.6  - Script
· 172.98.64.139  - Script
· 111.90.156.60  - Script
· 31.192.208.186  - Script
· 198.71.224.68  - Script
· 45.40.166.13  - Script
· 177.70.97.52  - Script
· 40.125.200.20  - Script
· 5.62.159.14  - Script
· 20.187.39.97  - Script
· 206.72.206.122  - Script
· 152.234.184.233  - Filter

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Crazy PC Case Wrap

The craze of having the “fastest machine” is still out there in some circles, however customizing and creating a unique rig is becoming more popular everyday. Since the big OEM’s are now building machines that appeal to the niche crowd, we must find ways of giving our machines something extra. Today we look at a case wrap that was sent to us by way of Crazy PC.

The Package:

Case Wrap Comp

The case wrap came packaged in a tube mailer. I was sent the Genesis Full Wrap. It is 19.5” wide by 50” high. This will do both side panels and the top of my Chieftec Dragon case with less than 2 inches of spare on the height and about 2 inches or more on the width. Also included was an instruction page that showed how to install the wrap.

Install:

First off, lay your case wrap out flat for a while. During shipping the wrap was in a tube mailer and was fairly difficult to manage the rolled edges.

Case Wrap Top

I was surprised to see how thick and heavy the wrap was, which proved to be a valuable asset while installing.

Case Wrap Backing

The first thing I did was to download the install video from of the Casewraps website. It was very helpful to see the experts installing it. I started off by taping the sides and top with masking tape, to make sure the wrap would not slip while installing.

Case Wrap Tape

Next, I turned it on its side and began working. I made sure I had some overhang as I started from the bottom edge of the side panel with the locking latch. And began working up the side of the case. As you can see below, the indention from the edge of the case and the side panel is in plain view, which makes trimming a breeze.

Case Wrap Trim

Using a folded paper towel, I pushed the wrap down onto the case, being careful not to create any bubbles along the way. I was really impressed with the ease of installation.

If you create a bubble or crease, you can always pull up the wrap and then reapply it. When I got to the side latch, I grabbed the hair dryer and applied a little heat to the wrap so it would conform over the latch without causing any creases.

Case Wrap Latch

Here you can see the latch and the lock as they were covered up by the wrap. As I got to the top of the case, I realized that holding the free side of the wrap with one hand helped keep the wrap tight and bubble free as I was rounding the corners. As I finished, I learned I did not quite get it perfectly straight, but I had the entire thing covered without a single bubble or crease!

Case Wrap No Creases

Clean Up:

The final step was to cut off the excess and cut out the side panel latch. I used a brand new box knife to begin cutting the panel latch.

Case Wrap Latch Cutout

After I had the latch finished, I began cutting on each of the side panel edges so that the each side panel could be removed. Then, I used a little heat from the blow dryer to make sure all the edges were secure. After I was finished I noticed some smudges from my fingerprints, and I cleaned them off with Windex and a paper towel.

Case Wrap Top

Conclusion:

All I can say is “Awesome Product!” For a super clean look, and way less than an Airbrush custom paint job, the case wrap is a great product. Installation was a breeze and it really looks good. What about airflow? IMHO there will be a slight restriction of airflow since the case wrap encloses the entire case. But you can punch out small vent holes with a small screw driver or pen. These case wraps are not reusable. Once you remove them, they tend to tear and stretch. I would recommend the wrap to anyone looking to spruce up their plain Jane case or just someone who wants make their system a little more unique.

Case Wrap Finished

Thanks to CrazyPC for the opportunity to review this product.

Pros:

  • Easy Install
  • Great Documentation
  • Video Install Download
  • Paint Safe
  • Washable

Cons:

  • May restrict airflow (if your case has side panel holes)
  • Not reusable

Crazy PC

Added: September 4th 2003
Reviewer: KingKash
Score: 9  
Hits: 17733
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::