Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 25 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 67.198.206.202  - CLike
· 110.82.133.225  - Script
· 37.57.231.204  - Script
· 112.193.137.178  - Script
· 123.138.184.81  - CLike
· 216.121.104.197  - Filter
· 216.121.104.194  - Filter
· 120.43.10.157  - Script
· 153.121.72.70  - CLike
· 173.208.193.85  - Script
· 58.23.232.205  - Script
· 188.165.15.223  - Filter
· 77.110.147.88  - Filter
· 176.52.117.27  - Filter
· 202.28.119.237  - Filter
· 176.52.90.19  - Filter
· 176.52.110.133  - Filter
· 174.139.163.82  - CLike
· 89.251.152.14  - Filter
· 153.121.47.69  - Script

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

Crazy PC Scorpion

This is the third Crazy PC side panel out of the line of four they currently produce which I have had the opportunity to look at for MHW (Thanks Crazy PC). If you are interested, the reviews of the Fire Dragon and the Inferno can be found here and here. If you read these previous reviews you know I was hard-pressed to find much wrong with either of the side panels. So, in the interest of brevity, I will be moving a little faster than usual here because I don't want to spend too much time repeating what I have said twice earlier.

Looking at these different side panels has been both a pleasurable and frustrating experience. The panels themselves are a remarkable piece of work. Unfortunately, until now they have only been available for Lian-Li PC-6X cases. However, with my monster-sized paws I am only comfortable inside a full size case like the Cheiftec Dragon I have used for years now. That means the Crazy PC side panels were out of my reach. Fortunately all of that, though, is starting to change. You see the Fire Dragon side panel is also now available for the first time to fit the Cheiftec Dragon.

As with previous Crazy PC custom side panel models, the Scorpion arrived double boxed (large peanut filled box, containing smaller box).

Scorpion Box Closed     Scorpion Box Open

Inside this smaller fitted box is additional gray foam padding at the four corners, as well as in the middle.

Scorpion Box Corners     Scorpion Box Corners

The side panel itself is wrapped in plastic, the glass itself is covered with a thick cardboard colored sticky paper.

Scorpion Plastic     Scorpion Paper

Moving on to the Crazy PC design itself, it is hard for me to accurately describe the amount of detail present in the Laser cut Scorpion design. To the naked eye it is nearly perfect, and even at full camera zoom the edges are smooth and the cuts are precise.

Scorpion Unwrapped     Scorpion Close Up

The Crazy PC side panel actually looks as if it was factory manufactured with this design. The glass that covers most of the inner panel is carefully attached to the side panel using a special 3M clear sheet adhesive that is supposed to be more durable than regular spray adhesive. Just for kicks, I actually gave the glass a few good tugs and it didn't budge.

Scorpion Final

Conclusion:

Weighing in at $6o dollars the Crazy PC side panels are not for everybody, same as a Lexus, or a Mercedes. That being said, I have never seen any other case panel like it before or since. These panels are definitely an eye catcher, and I imagine these would make you a star at your next local LAN Party. As soon as Crazy PC start carrying the Cheiftec Dragon version in blue you can bet I will have one for myself. Highly recommended.

Pros:

  • Truly unique designs
  • Stunning amount of detail
  • Window permanently attached

Cons:

  • Availability is still somewhat limited, though improved since last visited

Added: February 21st 2004
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 9  
Related Link: Crazy PC
Hits: 9560
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.11 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::